There is a Time to Manage Time

Some days I wonder why I am not doing more.

I look back when I was raising two children, working full-time but with crazy hours (2 p.m.-2 a.m. for nine years) in the newspaper industry, helping minister husband with youth events at church, teaching a class at church, making craft items for school events or Girl Scouts or Boy Scouts, cooking, cleaning and then more cleaning and more cooking.

Now children are grown, and it’s hard to believe we only need to do two loads of laundry per week. I say “we” because thank goodness I have a spouse who always has done more than his share of the work.

It was my young adult daughter who pointed out her parents need to break out of their “boring” routine. “Hey,” I told her, “we worked years to get to this point.”

But she had a point, and I have to admit it’s time to take stock of my time management, much like I did in college. Other than those lazy days of summer growing up, I do not ever recall having so much “free” time as when I was in college.

For those of you entering into full-time school, take advantage of this unstructured time. Chances are great you won’t see that type of “free” time until you retire, even if you have never entertained what that word means.

I recall having a grid sheet (oh, how I would have loved having it on a computer back then!), and honestly, it didn’t take long to fill in all of my little blocks. I tend to be a busy person, so I can let others keep me busy or I can actually make strides that will help me advance personally.

I like what Jordan Hasay, a NCAA Division I athlete, said in a recent article by Kenny Cress. The article points out the collegiate success of three young athletes in an era marred by academic scandals.

Hasay, who recently became the first sophomore in any sport to win the Capital One Academic All-America Award from the College Sports Information of America, defined her success formula as organization, organization, organization.

“Whenever I’m not doing running, sleeping or a little social time, I’m doing homework,” she said in the article. Hasay finished fourth in the women’s 5,000 and eighth in the 1,500 at the NCAA Division I Outdoor championships last spring.

“I try to plan it out, study a lot during the weekends and during the day so I can get plenty of sleep and recover.”

I have no doubt Hasay will do well at whatever she plans, because she plans what to do.

To help with school scheduling, try any one of the great online tools, such as http://www.schedulizer.com/ . Another great online tool for any age or stage is http://www.mindtools.com. The site offers articles and tools for time management but also offers help in the area of leadership, team management, stress management, career skills and more.

Thinking about all the planning I used to do to keep all my plates spinning at all times makes me think that maybe at this stage in life, it would not hurt to throw a few more plates in the air, with the proper planning, of course.

-Sheila

