Tips to Succeeding Beyond High School

I’m not sure what I expected when I went to college, but I do remember college was much different than high school.

In high school, I was involved in everything. As the editor of our biweekly offset newspaper, I barely had time to make it to class. My history teacher even wrote in my yearbook, “It would have been nice getting to know you…if you had ever been to class!” I made sure I kept my grades up while I also helped lead the Pep Club and worked on projects in a number of other extracurricular clubs.

Then, I landed at college, and I soon realized that high school success doesn’t always lead to college success. My introvert side kicked into full gear, and more than once, I wondered how this new me was going to survive.

As time went on and I met new friends and embraced the world of studying in a not-so-structured setting, I began to enjoy college life. It never ever mirrored high school life, though, and I wish I had been more attuned to that from the beginning.

Thinking about that made me ask myself what I could have done differently. Communication is the key to it all, I think. From Taking Charge: Your Education, Your Career, Your Life, here are tips for better classroom communication:

  • Be on time.
  • Arrive prepared.
  • Sit at the front of the class and away from any windows with eye-catching views.
  • Don’t use cellphones or other electronic devices.
  • Keep your conversations on task.
  • Don’t dominate the classroom discussion.
  • Do become involved in class discussion.
  • Save the clowning around for the weekend.
  • Handle disappointment and mistakes maturely.

In blog posts to come, we will explore other means for better communication.

-Sheila

