Follow Passion When Setting Goals

Obsession is my middle name. I’ve always been the type to get far too into things. When others like things, I love things. That being said, music always has been a huge passion of mine. I grew up in Alice, Texas, listening to Corpus Christi’s local radio stations playing rock and alternative music, and I remember loving the earlier songs of Matchbox Twenty, Everclear and the Foo Fighters. These bands (some still popular today) made a huge impact on my life.

I first heard the band Avenged Sevenfold in the eighth grade. It was unlike anything I’d ever heard before. Their melodic vocals, passionate screams, guitar solos and harmonies were among the greatest I’d ever heard. Obsession set in quick. By the ninth grade, I could tell you anything you’d ever want to know about the band members, and now in my junior year of college, I still love them.

After high school, when I chose the path of public relations at Baylor University, I told myself: I will work for this band. It became my dream, my goal. While I’ve now learned the acronym SMART (specific, measureable, attainable, realistic, timed) should be used for setting goals, I always knew that my AR part of the acronym was missing. I never thought these goals were realistic, let alone attainable.

Whenever I mention this goal in conversation, people laugh. I even laugh myself! “Well, I know it’ll never happen, but I’d love…” was how I’d start my answer to the question “What do you want to do when you graduate?” I was my own dream stealer. “Dream stealers” are people who say negative things about your goals and plans. If you can’t convince yourself you can do it, you can’t convince anyone else. I’d always thought I’ll never be good enough to work in that type of job, and even if I was, I’d have no way of getting there.

Now, in my junior year, while browsing “HireABear,” a networking service Baylor University offers to their students allowing them to view open jobs and internships, I came across Warner Music Group. Warner Music Group is home to a collection of record labels including Atlantic, Roadrunner and Warner Brothers. Warner Music Group offers internships in five states, and every graduating intern has an opportunity to meet with an on-site entry-level recruiter upon graduation in order to be considered for full-time employment.

The Warner Brothers label just happens to be home to my favorite band, Avenged Sevenfold.

So before you doubt yourself, before you become your own dream stealer, wait and see. Those goals you set when you’re young, may just be SMART after all.

-Debra

