Avoid Procrastination

Let’s admit it. Studying gets in the way of college. When you are far away spending lots of money for a higher education, you actually don’t have time for it. It’s all very ironic. You have functions, meetings, games, lunches, part-time jobs, and oh, that new movie you’ve been wanting to see just came out.

It’s a wonder college students have time to eat or sleep. (Well, sometimes they don’t have time to sleep.) All of these things put a damper on studying. I know my own grades suffered from attending all the school and extracurricular activities. It took only a few weeks into my first semester of college for me to become a procrastinator.

Once I became a procrastinator, it was very difficult and took a long time to break the habit. So my advice would be to not begin that cycle in the first place. Try to establish some rules and guidelines for your study times. These will be different for each person, especially because each has to accommodate for individual class and work schedules.

Actually writing down a study schedule that worked around all of my regular activities worked best for me. In my weekly schedule I included a healthy amount of sleep and rest, which is also very important if you want to do well in your classes. My study times during the week are mostly right after I get out of classes for the day. I know myself, and the later I do my homework, the less motivated I am. You have to know the time of day when you study best and try to work homework in during that time.

I also would recommend studying in groups whenever possible. This works especially well for me since I am a social butterfly because it allows me to be with people even while I am studying. Word of caution, though: Do not let being around other people keep you from getting your work done. Make sure everyone stays on task.

Another reason I am particularly fond of group studying is it usually happens in some sort of public place. My friends and I often study at one of our many coffee shops on campus or in the library. I like this because it gets me out of my room. Most of the time I want to get totally comfortable when I study in my room. I put on sweat pants, just turn on my lamp, and curl up on my chair. This tends to lead to my falling asleep instead of studying. So being out in public and with other people is a good thing for me. You have to know where you study best.

College does make studying difficult.  Your job, social life, class schedule, and extracurricular activities constantly get in the way, but it is possible to make it work. Learn discipline early on, and you won’t have to worry about pulling yourself out of a procrastination slump later.

-Elisabeth

